11 years ago

9/11/01

via my pinterest (words)

This time of year always has always remind me of Mackinaw City/Mackinac Island, especially since I live right by the lake. The cool air, the feel of the wind coming off the lake, the light sweaters. My dad and I went just after Labor Day every year for probably 7 years. It was just us for those 4 days and it was great.

Mackinaw City was where we were 11 years ago today. I had gotten out of the shower, got dressed, and walked out into the hotel room to see my dad sitting on the bed staring at the TV. I tried saying something to him but he shushed me. My dad shushed me. He never, ever did that so immediately I knew something was different. I went and sat on the bed and watched too. I didn’t quite get what I was seeing. I didn’t get it.

And then I did. I got it. We sat on those beds for over an hour, not saying anything. After a while we got up, went to breakfast, and went on with our day, but both of us mentioned how strange it felt to be going on with our day when so many people weren’t. I called my mom more than my usual once a day that day and hugged her so tight the moment I got home.

My thoughts and prayers go out to those who lost their lives or a loved one and to those men and women who fight for our freedom.

One thought on “11 years ago

Leave a Reply

