Did you say it?

Doctors spend a lot of time focused on the future, planning it, working toward it. But at some point you start to realize your life is happening now. Not after med school, not after residency, right now. This is it. It’s here. Blink and you’ll miss it.

Did you say it? “I love you. I don’t ever want to live without you. You changed my life.” Did you say it? Make a plan. Set a goal. Work toward it, but every now and then, look around; Drink it in ’cause this is it. It might all be gone tomorrow. -Grey’s Anatomy

My current TV/Netflix obsession is Grey’s Anatomy. I’ve been spending most of my lunch hours trying to catch up. Corey and I spent probably 4 hours watching it last night too. Seriously, I love that show.

I’m not sure if it’s because yesterday was September 11 or because I’ve experienced loss in my life, but the quote above (from the season 5 finale) really resonated with me.

This is it. Blink and you’ll miss it. 

Now is the time. Tell your man/lady friend you love them and that you love the way they let you cuddle up to them in the middle of the night when you are cold  and never tell you they are hot.  Tell your family you appreciate them. Tell your friends thank you for pouring that extra glass of wine when you needed it.

It’s like John Mayer sings… say what you need to say.

Did you say it? “I love you. I don’t ever want to live without you. You changed my life.” Did you say it?

3 thoughts on “Did you say it?

  1. Well, hello there! Love the new blog and love this post (I can’t seem to find a subscribe button?? Am I being stupid?) I am obsessed with Grey’s Anatomy. I have been following it for the past 8 years and love it. Shonda Rhimes is a genius – she writes such beautiful story lines and her little anecdotes (like the one you just mentioned) really hit home for a lot of her viewers. It’s funny, but I have been toying with the above for a little while now … sometimes it’s hard to tell people in your life exactly how much they mean to you because you are afraid of the repercussions – of them not saying it back, of not feeling quite the same way … but I guess life is short and things need to be said. And who isn’t flattered when someone tells you you mean the world to them – right?! I have some thinking to do … thanks for that!

  2. LOVE this. I’ve often thought about sending a card a day for an entire year, just telling people in my life how much they mean to me. I better start saving for stamps 😉

Leave a Reply

