don’t let comparison steal your joy

Joy

via my pinterest (words)

A few years ago I was talking to one of my friends and she said that she was giving up watching chick flicks. She and her boyfriend were very happy together, but she felt like they were interfering with their relationship. I didn’t think much of that conversation until last night.

I rented 2 movies from Redbox as an if my plans don’t go as planned tonight I’ll watch these kind of deal. As it turned out my plans didn’t go as planned so I ended up watching both. I’m a sucker for a good chick flick and I fall hard for nicholas Sparks movies {don’t judge}. As the first (The Lucky One) was ending I thought back to my conversation with my friend and I got it. I am happy in my relationship with my boyfriend, friends, and family, yet the movie made me feel like I was missing something.

It made me feel like Corey and I aren’t good enough because we don’t do all the super romantic things they do all the time, or that my friendships aren’t strong enough because I don’t call my friends about every last detail, or that my family isn’t as perfect.

I am a hopeless romantic. I love a good love story. I adore the friendships/relationships in those movies, but I find myself comparing my life with theirs when in reality, mine is great as is. Which is why I’ve decided to stop watching chick flicks. No more Notebook or Dear John marathons. (You’d be surprised how many times I’ve watched those movies… again, don’t judge!)

here’s to comparison not stealing my joy. ❤

Leave a Reply

