Meeting baby K

For the past week or so I’ve been sad. That achy heart sad. Because of this I haven’t wanted to blog much. I didn’t want to fake it, but I also didn’t want to talk about it, but something happened last night that filled my heart for the first time in a couple weeks and I just have to share.

I went to visit my friend, Roxy, and her sweet little family. Roxy had baby K back in June and there were some complications. Not with the delivery, but with K herself. A couple weeks ago baby K had surgery to fix what was going on and she never quite woke up. She’s not in a coma, but she has been sleeping since. When Roxy and I were talking about my visit I asked if there was anything she needed, her response? I need her to wake up. My heart sank. I want to wish this little baby awake more than I’ve wanted anything in a long time.

I walked into the NICU and immediate wanted to cry at how beautiful their little family was. Roxy was holding K and talking to Davie… and smiling. Even in the middle of all the scariness and medical talk she looked complete. It doesn’t feel like that long ago that I was sitting with her at dinner listening to her say she didn’t know how she was going to meet someone and that she was ready to start a family. Practically within seconds she met someone and now they have this beautiful little girl.

Last night as I was singing to her (poor thing!) and making her little arms do the chicken dance I found myself smiling and laughing. Really smiling. Yes, I am sad. I am very, very sad and my heart still aches, but seeing that little girl fight with all her might was inspirational.

So. I ask for prayers for baby K. She’s not getting worse and she’s stable, but she deserves more. This little baby deserves to go home for the first time. Roxy and Davie deserve to spend more than 5 minutes at home every day. So, please… I just ask that you say a prayer for their family… of fifteen.

It did my heart wonders to see this little girl and to catch up with my friend. Roxy has one of the biggest hearts around and I am thankful for her and her kind words last night.

And thanks to Davie for not rolling your eyes while Rox and I talked girl talk 🙂

Leave a Reply

