low key weekend

This past weekend all I wanted was for a low key weekend and thankfully that’s exactly what it turned out to be.

   photo (58) photo (59)

photo (60)photo (57)

After a 3 hour post-work nap Friday night Corey came over and we ate pizza and fried cauliflower at 2am and watched a whole lot of Boy Meets World. We pulled out every blanket in my apartment and laid on the floor and Corey gave me a massage, too. Basically he was awesome.

I would like to say, for the record, that The Godfather’s is now the best pizza I have had in Chicago (so far)! Before you even ask, no, I have not had Pequods yet, but I’ll let you know if I change my mind after I have.

photo (56) photo (61)

Saturday we slept in (a must after watching BMW until 5AM) and then each left to run separate errands. On my way out of my apartment I pass this bit of concrete that has lots of little notes or names written in it and it made me happier during what was a sad few days.

On my way home from the gym while I was sitting at a red light I looked over and noticed this old couple in the window talking to the chef (I assume?) of a little restaurant. I couldn’t hear what they were saying, but it was obvious they were having a really great day. It was adorable!

photo (63)photo (62)

Sunday was my nephew’s SEVENTH birthday party. I could hardly believe it. SEVEN! When did that happen?? We drove to SB to spend the afternoon partying it up and lovin’ on the little man.

Joey then and now!

photo (64)photo (55)

After Joey’s party I demanded that we stop by Hacienda so I could pick up some salsa on our way home. We were both hungry so we stayed for lunch… and drinks… and dessert!

I am NOT a dessert person almost at all, but the fried ice cream was DE-LISH!

****

All in all it was a very nice and low key weekend followed by an even more low key Monday and Tuesday.

Leave a comment